The University of Arizona

Other Support | Global Change

Other Support

Herbert E. Carter Travel Award - DEADLINE: AUG 15, 2018
(For travel dates October 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018) 
Please note: travel dates extend from summer through the start of the fall semester.

The Herbert E. Carter Travel Award Program has been established in honor of Dr. Carter's spirit and passion for interdisciplinary scholarship and research in higher education. The award provides up to $600 per year to GIDP students for National or International travel to a professional meeting. Please review the Instructions & ProceduresApplications will be reviewed by the Graduate Interdisciplinary Programs Advisory Council (GIDPAC).

Future Travel Dates & Application Deadlines:

Travel: January 1, 2019 through March 31, 2019: application opened in October; deadline mid-November 2019

​​Travel: April 1, 2019 through June 30, 2019: application opened in January; deadline mid-February 2019

Travel: July 1, 2019 through September 30, 2019: application opened in April; deadline mid-May 2019


Annual Raphael & Jolene Gruener Research Travel Award - DEADLINE: MAR 15
(For travel dates April 1, 2018 through March 31, 2019)

The Graduate Interdisciplinary Programs (GIDP) started the Raphael and Jolene Gruener Research Travel Award in 2011. The Grueners have been tireless supporters of interdisciplinary research and education at the University of Arizona. They are also well known for their love of travel. The Gruener Research Travel Award will support awards that fund student research travel, bringing together these two passions of the Grueners.

The award is intended to offset some of the costs associated with international or national travel expenses such as airfare, and meals. This is a meritorious award and will be granted on the competitive and innovative content of the statement submitted with the application. Awards are contingent upon the availability of funds. Students are eligible to receive a total of $1,000 per award year and may submit only one application per award year. Please review the Eligibility and Application Instructions